• Measure your precise language level

Berlitz Placement and Levels

Measure your precise language level

Berlitz has developed standardized proficiency levels for all the languages taught. Our Language Proficiency Assessment determines the learner’s skills and the level required to achieve their goals. At the end of the program, we will assess learners’ progress before advancing to a higher level.

Find out your exact language level

Click on the arrows to scroll through the Berlitz Levels.

Berlitz Levels
Level 1 - Functional Ability

Knowledge of language is sufficient to communicate in a very limited way, with the simplest oral and listening tasks and situations.

Level 2 - Functional Ability

At the functional level, learners have a basic command of the language needed in a limited range of simple, routine, and familiar tasks and situations.

Level 3 - Intermediate Ability

At the functional level, learners have a basic command of the language needed in a limited range of simple, routine, and familiar tasks and situations.

Level 4 - Intermediate Ability

At the intermediate level, learners are able to refashion and combine learned material to meet their immediate communication and learning needs. They comprehend information on familiar topics in contextualized settings and produce sustained conversation with others on an expanding variety of general topics.

Level 6 - Upper-Intermediate Ability

Learners can, to an extent, initiate, sustain and conclude most routine communicative tasks for personal and work needs.

Level 6 - Upper-Intermediate Ability

At the upper intermediate level, learners have assimilated the essentials of the language. They communicate competently and comfortably in many professional and personal contexts, and find different ways of formulating what they want to express.

Level 7 - Advanced Ability

Learners begin to create with the language in more complex and demanding conversations and can deal comfortably with most subjects over the telephone.

Level 8 - Advanced Ability

At the advanced level, learners communicate effectively and appropriately even in demanding oral tasks and situations, like conducting a meeting. They participate easily in social and professional conversations, and deal comfortably with most subjects over the telephone.

Level 9 - Professional Ability

Learners communicate effectively with various audiences on a wide range of familiar and new topics to meet most personal, academic or professional demands—including many which presume experience in public speaking and critical listening.

Level 10 - Professional Ability

At the professional level, learners have full command of the language. They understand and can use virtually all linguistic structures; as well as a range of vocabulary items as broad and deep as that of most educated native speakers. Communication is fluent, appropriate and well organized—they develop ideas in speech clearly and coherently.

Contact

* Mandatory fields: please complete

Berlitz Center

Classement et niveaux Berlitz

Mesurez précisément votre niveau linguistique

Berlitz a développé des niveaux de compétence standardisés pour toutes les langues enseignées. Notre évaluation de compétences linguistiques détermine les connaissances des stagiaires et le niveau correspondant pour atteindre leurs objectifs. À la fin du programme, nous évaluons les progrès des apprenants avant d'accéder à un niveau supérieur.

Cliquez sur les niveaux Berlitz ci-dessous pour voir leur définition.

Niveaux Berlitz
Niveau 1 - Aptitude Fonctionnelle :

La connaissance de la langue est suffisante pour communiquer de façon très limitée, dans des tâches et situations orales et d'écoute les plus simples.

Niveau 2 - Aptitude Fonctionnelle :

Au niveau fonctionnel, les apprenants ont une maîtrise basique de la langue dans un éventail limité de tâches et situations simples, courantes et familières.

Niveau 3 - Aptitude Intermédiaire :

Les apprenants peuvent gérer la plupart des tâches de communication et les situations sociales courantes et au travail. Ils peuvent suivre le sens général d'une conversation sur des sujets familiers.

Niveau 4 - Aptitude Intermédiaire :

Au niveau intermédiaire, les apprenants comprennent des thèmes familiers et peuvent tenir une conversation suivie avec d'autres personnes sur une variété de sujets généraux.

Niveau 5 - Aptitude Intermédiaire Supérieure :

Les apprenants peuvent, dans une certaine mesure, engager, suivre et conclure la plupart des tâches de communication courantes pour leurs besoins personnels et professionnels.

Niveau 6 - Aptitude Intermédiaire Supérieure :

Au niveau intermédiaire supérieur, les apprenants ont assimilé les fondamentaux de la langue. Ils communiquent de façon compétente et confortable dans de nombreux contextes professionnels et personnels et ils trouvent différentes façons de formuler ce qu'ils veulent exprimer.

 

Niveau 7 - Aptitude Avancée :

Les apprenants peuvent composer avec la langue dans des conversations plus complexes et exigeantes et ils peuvent traiter la plupart des sujets au téléphone de façon confortable.

Niveau 8 - Aptitude Avancée :

Au niveau avancé, les apprenants communiquent de façon efficace et appropriée, même dans des tâches orales et situations exigeantes comme la conduite d'une réunion. Ils participent facilement à des conversations sociales et professionnelles et traitent confortablement la plupart des sujets au téléphone.

Niveau 9 - Aptitude Professionnelle

Les apprenants communiquent efficacement avec des publics variés sur un large éventail de sujets familiers et nouveaux pour satisfaire la plupart des exigences personnelles, scolaires ou professionnelles - dont de nombreuses supposent une expérience de prise de parole en public et d'écoute critique.

Niveau 10 - Aptitude Professionnelle :

Au niveau professionnel, les apprenants ont une maîtrise totale de la langue. Ils comprennent et peuvent utiliser pratiquement toutes les structures linguistiques, ainsi qu'un éventail d'éléments de vocabulaire aussi large et approfondi que celui de la plupart des locuteurs de langue maternelle instruits. La communication est fluide, adaptée et bien structurée. Ils développent des idées dans un discours de façon claire et cohérente.